THANK YOU! 2024 Fundraising Completed - $2095 / $2000 CDN for the year, June/July Renewal. Paypal Donation Link US dollars

Flight sim question

All discussions regarding Board, Card, and RPG Gaming, including industry discussion, that don't belong in one of the other gaming forums.

Moderators: The Preacher, $iljanus, Zaxxon

Vinda-Lou

Flight sim question

Post by Vinda-Lou »

What's the best, available-in-stores, flight sim? I just got a new joystick (do we still call them that?) and wanted to pick up a new game. I'd prefer WWII, but am open to almost anything with guns. A good manual would be a plus, as I am pretty new to this genre. Thanks for your help.
MeSlayer

Post by MeSlayer »

if you are looking for ww2 then depending on the theatre you want either il-2 forgotten battles (Eastern Front) or pacific fighters (... pacific!)

or both, they are each excellent sims - and can work in conjunction with each other from what I hear

I own both but I lack the space to install both at the same time, and keep playing the stuff I always do. But PF did ask me during the install (i think) if I already had FB installed so I would assume you can have a 40's russo japanese air war if you wanted.
Hello this is a signature.
Kratz

Post by Kratz »

I believe this question gets asked once a week:

http://www.octopusoverlords.com/phpBB2/ ... php?t=3329

Essentially, pacific fighters is the latest and greatest WWII flight sim.
Zekester

Post by Zekester »

I'll be the sole disagree-er on IL2 :D

I prefer Microsoft's Combat Flight Simulator's 2 & 3 to IL2.

Although it doesn't have guns, MS Flight Simulator '04 is on sale starting Sunday at CompUSA for $10.
That's a helluv a deal for a flight sim.

Another excellent, fun game is Crimson Skies, but it's more of a 'fantasy-based' game.

Then there's some of the value games that are really good....like Extreme Air Racing: Redline (I think thats the name) and Dogfight!