Spotify

Everything else!

Moderators: Bakhtosh, EvilHomer3k

telcta

Spotify

Post by telcta »

So, Spotify is finally available in the US. I think some OO'ers have access to it and I'm wondering how its working out. They mention you can get every song but some, like the Beatles, are unavailable. I do like the idea of just searching around looking for music to try but the website as it is now doesn't allow you to see what's out there until you sign up (which there currently is a waiting list for the free version).

Spotify sounds like Pandora but you get to pick the songs, is that basically it? If it has the ability to create genre music for you like Pandora, that would great.
TiLT

Re: Spotify

Post by TiLT »

I've been using Spotify for a good while now, probably for around 2 years or so. It's essentially a replacement for most of your MP3 collection. It lets you stream from a large music library legally, for a low price. It's not like Pandora, but you can do searches with it for specific genres, and there are random playlists. Spotify works so well that almost the entire computer-literate population in Norway (me included) uses it daily.
Insert witty comment here.
Mookee

Post by Mookee »

Wow. This is awesome so far. If I get the ability to invite people I will.

Seems light years ahead of Amazon, Google Music, and what I think iCloud will be.
YellowKing

Post by YellowKing »

It's really good but their selection leaves a lot to be desired. Just did a "spot" check on a few really mainstream bands like Red Hot Chili Peppers and Radiohead and they were missing major albums. It's a slick interface though and there's plenty to listen to as it is. I'm sure I'll use it a great deal. Just don't go in expecting it to have an iTunes or even Amazon-sized library.
Alefroth

Post by Alefroth »

Rhapsody doesn't have RHCP either, so that might not be a good gauge.

Ale
hitbyambulance

Post by hitbyambulance »

also see: Grooveshark
TiLT

Post by TiLT »