Happy Holidays.. Ugh.

Everything else!

Moderators: Bakhtosh, EvilHomer3k

FishPants
Server WhOOre

Happy Holidays.. Ugh.

Post by FishPants »

Welp I have been working at my present place of employment for about 8-9 years (progressively climbing the old corporate ladder), and my boss last week just basically dropped the bomb that we will all (including him) likely be laid off in '05.. He doesn't have any more details other than that, but he said he felt it necessary to tell me so I could "see it coming".. Ironically it's probably the only time I have ever actually had respect for my boss (usually he's a big loud prick that doesn't quite grasp what Technology is or why he has to direct it).

Anyhow I wrestled with whether to tell the guys on my team that would be affected ahead of time (could put the company at risk, and ultimately any severence I may get at risk). So yesterday I said fuck it and told the ones that needed to know. There were no surprised looks (just as I wasn't surprised) and they appreciated the heads up. How shitty would I have felt if I had to lay them off right after Christmas when they racked up their credit cards or whatever.. Anyways here's the dilema (sp, too lazy to look it up; suck it), do I wait for a package or should I bolt now and get something else? From what I hear the norm in Canada is 1 month of pay per year of service, that could be a substantial amount. The government mandated amount however is far less than that (like 1 month of pay total).

So do I gamble on a good package, and take a much needed break, or should I jump ship now and maybe take a job that pays 15% less (which I can manage to live with) with the hopes of having a bit more job security than this pisshole of a company. Thoughts? Belly Button Lint?
The Meal

Post by The Meal »

Sorry to hear it. I got the "surprise axe" on Jan 17th, 2000. Good time of year for it. :(