Single player miniatures games?

All discussions regarding Board, Card, and RPG Gaming, including industry discussion, that don't belong in one of the other gaming forums.

Moderators: The Preacher, $iljanus, Zaxxon

Blackhawk

Single player miniatures games?

Post by Blackhawk »

I'm a long time veteran of miniatures games - Warhammer of late. Unfortunately, I live in a town of 2,000 where the typical pastimes are Bud Lite and inbreeding. As my luck would have it, my wargaming friend is about to move out of the area, and I'm stuck with an useless hobby. I absolutely love painting miniatures and building terrain, but not to just stick on a shelf.

Does anyone know of any good games out there for a single player?
(˙pǝsɹǝʌǝɹ uǝǝq sɐɥ ʎʇıʌɐɹƃ ʃɐuosɹǝd ʎW)
Chaz

Re: Single player miniatures games?

Post by Chaz »

I hear the game "Paint up a Warhammer army and sell it for a mint on Ebay" is pretty good.

I don't know of any solo minis games. I mean, you could always just play Warhammer solo, since as far as I know there's no hidden info. But really, if you're mostly in it for the hobby aspects, you could probably more than cover your expenses by painting to order.
I can't imagine, even at my most inebriated, hearing a bouncer offering me an hour with a stripper for only $1,400 and thinking That sounds like a reasonable idea.-Two Sheds
Blackhawk

Post by Blackhawk »

Chaz wrote:I mean, you could always just play Warhammer solo, since as far as I know there's no hidden info.
My opponent's strategy. ;)
Chaz

Post by Chaz »

Well yeah. Playing solo becomes less a game of surprise and more of an intellectual puzzle. How can Force A best defeat Force B when Force B has certain advantages?

I'm not saying this is the best solution. There just ain't none of what it sounds like you want (unfortunately). There are definitely some good solo board/war games, but I can't think of any solo minis games.